Thoughts and Photos from our Third ISV Group

Our third group of International Student Volunteers all kindly shared their thoughts, and photos, from the past two weeks that they spent with us here at HDS. 

image (9)“I am so excited for the time I spent with the staff and kids at DEPDC. The staff here have shown me what it’s like to love unconditionally and the kids have reminded me to smile despite what goes on around us. Being here has also made me more aware of the issues with human trafficking and it has given me a new perspective on life.” -Lianne

“My experience with ISV at DEPDC has opened my eyes to see the real issues that are happening outside of what I learn from social media or a textbook. The children at DEPDC have taught me to be thankful for the simple things. Seeing them smile warms my heart.” -Lavinia

image (2)

“ISV gave me a brand new perspective on human trafficking and showed me how rewarding global giving can be. I will never forget the staff, the teachers and the children (who are teachers too!). This was an incredible experience and I would recommend it to anyone who has a wild desire to make a change because you will surely make a difference being a part of this community.” -Anna

“My time here at DEPDC with ISV has been life altering. It has opened my eyes to the global issue of human trafficking. This center and the staff are doing incredible work through prevention and protection of these at-risk children. I have fallen in love with the center, their work and most of all the amazing children. I cannot begin to express how truly grateful I am for my time here.” -Becca

image (1)

“This experience was life changing. The kids are thriving in this program. The goal of prevention and protection I believe is achieved. The teachers and staff make this center a home and safe place for the kids to be themselves. Thank you for everything.” -Jean

“This experience has made me more aware of the struggles so many young children go through on a day to day basis. I am so glad and grateful I had the opportunity to meet such extraordinary kids who love to learn!” -Kim

image (7)

“I will never be able to express how grateful I am to have had this opportunity. Being here has opened my eyes to the horrible daily struggles facing so many children worldwide; problems I never would have dreamed of experiencing as a child. We are all human brings and it is essential that we act like it- that we treat each other with humanity; these children deserve it” -Rachel

“Getting to teach and play with the kids at DEPDC was a truly life changing experience! I came thinking I would teach them so much, but they taught me ever more! Those precious children will be in my heart forever!” -Lizzie

“I have learned a lot more than I expected to through the last two weeks. I came here to help these kids, but I got help from them. They smile unbelievably beautifully. They are unbelievably nice to each other. It was such an amazing experience to learn how I can appreciate every moment in my life. I could smile because of them, and I was happy to give them some reason to smile too. I also learned how I can make a difference for a better global society by sharing our thoughts about this society, environment and every aspect in life. I hope these kids grow up beautifully as they are now.” -Grace

image (8)

 

Posted on July 22, 2016, in General, Half Day School, Volunteers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

