Meet an International Volunteer: Francesca

The International Department would like to introduce Francesca. She joined our organization this past month. Francesca is from Massachusetts, USA and is a recent graduate in International Studies and Business from Muhlenberg College. She has taken the year off from beginning her career search in order to explore the world and herself. Francesca has had previous experiences volunteering in South East Asia with children and is looking forward to the new opportunities DEPDC/GMS will bring her. During her first few weeks in Mae Sai, Francesca has worked on writing grant proposals, managing social media accounts, and started teaching dance classes. She is eager to have the new term begin and to see how she can further help DEPDC/GMS to grow, and how the DEPDC/GMS can help her grow.

IMG_5824

“My college career had been focused through lenses on human issues. Though my studies began as a pre-medical student, that evolved into overall human issues and looking for ways to help those who did not necessarily have the abilities to help themselves due to their given circumstances. Throughout my studies I have explored issues of black-market economics, the issues of trafficking, as well as women and children’s rights, and the international laws that are being made to prevent these situations. When I was in my junior year I had the opportunity to live abroad and decided at that point that I would live abroad at some point after graduation. Once I saw the opportunity DEPDC/GMS offered I knew this was where I wanted to be.

9ed49c38-7dc6-4eae-a8ff-b46256c65988

“As soon as I found and began looking into DEPDC/GMS, I knew that it was a good fit for my interests. I was excited by the idea of volunteering at an organization that has played a hands-on role in preventing sex trafficking and other forms of exploitative labor, and would allow me to do the same. I also have seen the benefits of prevention through education and was intrigued by the possibility that I could be one of those people to truly make a difference in someone’s life.
I am very eager to have the opportunity to contribute to DEPDC/GMS and learn from the organization and staff here. I love working with the few students who are here during the term break and cannot wait until school is back in session. I am excited to continue to get to know my coworkers, the village and Mae Sai, and work towards achieving as much as possible for DEPDC/GMS over the next coming months!”

Posted on March 30, 2016, in General, Half Day School, Volunteers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

