Meet an International Volunteer: Katie!

The International Department would like to introduce Katie, who joined us the beginning of December 2015. Katie is a Sociology and Anthropology major from the University of Oregon. She spent years working with NGO’s in her home state specializing in the areas of drug and alcohol dependency and mental health. She lived and taught English in South Korea for four years and now owns a Yoga studio in Oregon, USA that she opened 18 months ago.  She is excited to support the mission of DEPDC through her non-profit, ESL teaching, and yoga teaching experiences. During her first months in Mae Sai, Katie has been busy starting an after school yoga program for the HDS students, teaching morning English classes, co-writing reports to donors, and managing the social media accounts.

SONY DSC

“University was my first exposure to the social issue of human trafficking. Some years ago I set out on an extensive backpacking trip through SE Asia where I became even more aware of the large scale atrocities committed by this injustice. It was then that I began research into organizations that work on behalf of victims and at-risk persons. DEPDC/GMS was first on that search list. After reading through their website and gaining further information on their methods of prevention I knew this was the perfect place to volunteer.”

SONY DSC

 

“My background has provided me with many resources that I hope to offer during my time here at DEPDC. I am honored for the opportunity to be a part of the DEPDC team. The work they do, the possibilities they provide and the mission they are committed to continues to inspire me. I have only been here a short while but already I can see that the staff and students will be teaching me much more than I could ever hope to teach them.

If you would like to find out more about volunteering with the Development and Education Programme for Daughters and Communities Centre in the Greater Mekong Sub-region (DEPDC / GMS), please see the information within the main VOLUNTEER tab and on the drop-down Opportunity tabs.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

