Meet an International Volunteer: Linn!

The International Department would like to introduce Linn, who joined us in the beginning of August. Linn has been teaching in Norway for seven years after completing six years of Teacher Education in Oslo and Trondheim, Norway. In addition, she spent one of her years studying in Southern Thailand. She will be working at the center in Mae Chan, mainly at the Swimming Home. Since arriving at the Swimming Home in Mae Chan, Linn has been working on researching potential funders, networking, reading up on DEPDC’s work and updating social media accounts for the Swimming home and teaching English to the children at the shelter. She looks forward to get to know the children better and to learn more about the Greater Mekong Sub-region and the issue of trafficking in the region.

1

“During my time as a teacher in Norway, I have been blessed with leaders that encouraged me to evolve all the time. I love being a teacher, but what I love the most about it, is the social aspect. I love being there for the children, to see them grow both at school and personally. However, during my last year as a teacher in Norway, I realized that I needed bigger and different challenges”.

“While living in Thailand recently, I became more aware of the different aspects of human trafficking in the country. During this period, I read up on the subject, and I realized quickly that I truly wanted to contribute and work for an anti-human trafficking organization. Since I already know a lot about the Thai culture and have a connection to the country through friends and interests, I started checking out NGOs in Thailand. I came across DEPDC/GMS and read everything I could find online about the organization. Knowing that it was a well established NGO working to prevent human trafficking and to protect victims of human trafficking, I decided to apply as a volunteer”.

“Through working for DEPDC/GMS, I hope to gain more knowledge and understanding of the work that is done to prevent human trafficking and to protect victims of human trafficking. I hope that I can contribute to the organization through my teaching skills, administrative skills, interpersonal skills and intercultural skills”.

2

If you would like to find out more about volunteering with the Development and Education Programme for Daughters and Communities Centre in the Greater Mekong Sub-region (DEPDC/GMS), please see the information within the main VOLUNTEER tab and on the drop-down Opportunity tabs.

Posted on August 11, 2015, in General, Mekong Regional Indigenous Child Rights Home, MRICRH, Volunteers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

