Meet an International Volunteer: Caoimhe!

The International Department would like to introduce Caoimhe, who joined the department in April. Caoimhe spent a year studying International Aid and Development at Ballsbridge College in Dublin, before moving to Cork, where she is currently a student of International Development and Food Policy, at University College Cork, in Ireland. She will be working with the international department at the center in Mae Sai for the next few months. Since arriving at DEPDC, Caoimhe has been working on researching potential funders and working on reports for donors as well as updating social media accounts. She looks forward to meeting the students when they are back at school in May, and is excited to see what she can do to further the work of DEPDC as well as what she can learn from working here.

DSC_0033

My university course gives the incredible opportunity to spend 5 months working with a non-profit organization in an area of interest to us, to put in practice the skills that we have been taught over the past three years, and encourages us to spend this time abroad in a part of the world that interests us.

Growing up with a mother who has a very strong sense of awareness of human rights issues and violations, human trafficking and modern day slavery is an issue that I have been aware of and has interested me for quite a long time. I decided that Thailand would be an interesting place for me to start because it was a part of the world where I had no experience and very little knowledge of, before coming across the work of DEPDC.

I have always enjoyed working with children, when I was in school I taught music to small groups of young children and always enjoyed it. When I read about the DEPDC, I really liked the mission and the approach that the organization takes, and I thought it would be a great opportunity for me to learn more about Northern Thailand and surrounding areas and to learn more about the problems surrounding human trafficking and modern day slavery, while beginning working with an organization that has lots of experience in tackling such huge problems.

Since arriving, I have experienced only kindness from the incredibly welcoming and helpful staff here at the center in Mae Sai, and have seen how incredibly hardworking and dedicated, not only my new coworkers are, but everybody who I have encountered here since I arrived.

IMG_0313

I’m really enjoying learning more about the organization and the work that has been done and continues to be done as well as the culture of Northern Thailand, and I am looking forward to the students coming back to school, and spending time working with, and getting to know them.

If you would like to find out more about volunteering with the Development and Education Programme for Daughters and Communities Centre in the Greater Mekong Sub-region (DEPDC / GMS), please see the information within the main VOLUNTEER tab and on the drop-down Opportunity tabs.

Posted on April 27, 2015, in Community Learning Centre, General, Half Day School, Volunteers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi there! I am a UC Berkeley student that has been working in human trafficking prevention (on the governmental, non profit, and education sides) for the past 3 years. I am in Thailand right now and would love to learn more about your work! Please shoot me an email– Izullmann@gmail.com.

    Thanks so much!!
    Izzy

Leave a Reply

