Meet an International Volunteer: Jörn!

The International Department would like to introduce Jörn, who joined the department in August.  Jörn received a Magister Artium (Master’s Degree) in ‘Languages and Cultures of mainland Southeast Asia: Thai studies program’ from Hamburg University in Germany.  He wrote his thesis on the subject of “Minority politics in Thailand and Laos: A comparative study on the example of the ‘Hill tribes’”.  He has working experience in Thailand from Chiang Mai University and Friedrich-Ebert-Stifung in Bangkok.  Since Jörn arrived, he has mainly been working on translations, blog writing, report writing, teaching English to the staff and Thai to the volunteers.

“During my last two years at university, I focused mainly on the subject of minority politics in Thailand and Laos.  My field of research was the so-called ‘hill tribes’ of Northern Thailand and Laos. I focused on the fields of nationality, resettlement, education, and political participation.  During this research, the hardships these people face in everyday life became obvious and the lack of opportunity to improve themselves in the future was evident.”

1411120571631

Jörn utilizes strong English and Thai language skills to support the organization.

“When I first read about the DEPDC/GMS and its work on the internet, it reminded me of many things I learned during my thesis and the lack of support for the disadvantaged minority groups.  So I decided to apply with DEPDC/GMS to become a volunteer at their Mae Sai project site.”

“I hope that being a volunteer at DEPDC/GMS will give me an even deeper understanding of the real daily problems that minorities in Thailand face every day, and that my experience in Thailand and the knowledge I gained during my studies will enable me to give valuable support to the work of DEPDC/GMS.”

Jorn playing football_Cropped for Self-intro post

Jörn playing football with Half Day School students.

If you would like to find out more about volunteering with the Development and Education Programme for Daughters and Communities Centre in the Greater Mekong Sub-region (DEPDC / GMS), please see the information within the main VOLUNTEER tab and on the drop-down Opportunity tabs.


 

Posted on September 23, 2014, in General, Volunteers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

