Meet an International Volunteer: Adrien!

The International Department would like to introduce Adrien, who joined us in the beginning of May. Adrien is a social worker from France, with degrees in Psychology and International Relations. He comes to us with extensive working experience dealing with substance abuse, migration, asylum and child protection issues. He is interested in learning more about the Greater Mekong Sub-region and the issue of trafficking in the region. In his short time here, Adrien has already begun working on fundraising, networking, and research. He also hopes to contribute to English teaching duties.

“When I was working with asylum seekers in Europe, I had a very simple vision of the reasons and ways that people were trafficked. My perspective was based on the typical European perspective on migration procedures and realities. The reality of trafficking in Thailand is quite different from this view. Many individuals  from neighboring countries and from hill tribes are stateless. This can limit access to education and health care. These limitations apply to the vast majority of the children that are helped by DEPDC/GMS. I appreciate that the organization works with partners in the other countries in the Great Mekong Sub-region and considers human trafficking to be a global issue, not only a problem of Thai society.

Adrien_Photo for Self-Intro Blog Post_May 2014

“I loved my job in Europe, but I was drawn to the prospect of  living and working in Asia. I chose to pursue living in Thailand because I saw a volunteer listing on reliefweb.org. I was intrigued by the mission and vision of DEPDC/GMS. I enjoy working here because it gives me the opportunity to work very autonomously, on the topics and skills that fit my interests. I also have discovered new models of working styles, from both my colleagues in the International Department as well as Thai staff members. I have enjoyed the differences from the European style of work.

“I enjoy living in Mae Sai, which is a town with a checkpoint at the Myanmar (Burma) border. As I am very interested in migration and border issues, I can learn a lot here in my everyday life, and be in a very multicultural environment. Although studying Thai language and learning about the culture and politics is challenging, I am  really enjoying it.

“After being here for only a month, I am amazed by how much I have already learned. I believe that working at DEPDC/GMS will be a great professional, cultural, and personal experience that will impact my future.”

2 thoughts on “Meet an International Volunteer: Adrien!

Add yours

  1. Bonjour Adrien et très enchanté. Your skills and enthousiasm are a necessary and essential tool for Depdc. Welcome, et bon courage!

    I hope to meet you in person in July at the MYS

    Cees

    ‘do good – feel well’

    >

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

