Success with Go Fund Me!

Dear family and friends, old and new,

The fundraising project has successfully reached and gone BEYOND its GOAL. The total amount raised was 1,230 EUROS! DEPDC would like to say a HUGE THANK YOU to everyone who donated!! We are so excited by the great success of this fundraising project and deeply touched by everyone’s contribution. Thank you. Here is a message from Patricia, our volunteer who set up the fundraising project:

The fundraising project to renovate the bathroom area at DEPDC´s shelter home in Chiang Khong has come to an end.

I just wanted to send you a few lines, first of all to let you know about the end of this first phase of the fundraising project. Secondly, I wanted to express my deepest gratitude to all of you who have contributed to make this modest idea of mine a hopeful reality. It isn’t important whether you contributed 5 euros or 100. What is important to me is that you trusted me in this venture, and for that I will always be grateful to every single one of you.

I never could have imagined we would raise so much money in such a short period of time. Our initial goal of 500 euros was quickly surpassed thanks to word of mouth. As our project was mentioned in DEPDC´s blog, many more friends joined this cause and encouraged us to go further and aim at raising 1000 euros to ensure the work was done properly. And we not only managed to raise 1000 euros, we surpassed the goal in only a few days!!!

THANK YOU AGAIN.

But now, keeping up with my promise to inform you about how the project develops, I would like you to know that the total amount raised is: 1,230 euros.

However, you should be aware that there are some charges to be added to this final amount:

1.       5% commission for GoFundMe.com

2.       3.4% Paypal Fees (paid by the receiver)

3.       Sending fees for Western Union (Paypal sends the amount raised to my Spanish bank account, and then I have the money transferred to Thailand through Western Union.)

I know most of you did not know about these extra charges, but I was well aware from the beginning. As the scope of the project was fairly small at the beginning, I thought this was the best way of doing it. I do not have a bank account here in Thailand, and since most of my friends and relatives would be paying in euros, I thought it was best to use my Spanish account.

Anyhow, I take responsibility for these charges and will pay them myself. This way, I will also make my little contribution to this project.

We will continue to keep everyone updated via the DEPDC blog! You will be seeing pictures before, during, and after construction. At the moment it is still the cool season in Thailand, and the girls are still living at the centre. We will probably start construction in March, when the weather is hotter (cement dries faster then) and when the girls go back home to visit their families.

Best regards to all,

Pat 🙂

Posted on January 29, 2013, in Daughters Education Programme, DEPDC Chiang Khong (M-CRP), Fundraising, General, Volunteers and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Dear Pat, What a great job you are doing helping in Mae Sai. We will be returning to Mae Sai around March 13th. Will you still be there? We would love to meet you and visit the compound to see your project in real life. Sincerely, Terry & Daeng aka: Plumber & Little Thai Girl http://www.FunnyPlumber.com http://www.TerrysStories.blogspot.com http://www.DIALONEtoday.com

    Date: Tue, 29 Jan 2013 03:38:13 +0000 To: terry@funnyplumber.com

Leave a Reply

