Vincent, Volunteer at DEPDC/GMS

Get to know some of our staff and volunteers in our new series ‘Staff Profiles‘!

“My name is Vincent. I am from the Netherlands and I am 28 years old. I love sports, art, and video games. After finishing high school, I went on a mission to Canada for the Christian church I attend. When I came back, I began to study Primary School Teaching, Art and Tourism at NHTV Breda University of Applied Sciences. Tourism Studies first introduced me to the problem of human trafficking. It created in me the desire to do something about it and so I searched for an organisation that helped to stop child exploitation. After receiving my bachelor degree, I saved up money and applied at DEDPC/GMS as a volunteer. I arrived here in January and I am now teaching art and English, organise games, and help out wherever I can. All in all I will stay at DEPDC/GMS for 6 months. I feel that I am learning a lot about the languages and cultures of South East Asia. I love the children I work with and I hope that I can mean something to them during my stay here in Thailand.”

If you are thinking of volunteering with DEPDC/GMS like Vincent, please visit our website to learn about the work of DEPDC/GMS and the application process for prospective volunteers. We look forward to hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

